BBS Kendrew Doctoral Thesis Prize

The BBS Kendrew Doctoral Thesis Prize was established in 2019 by the British Biophysical Society (BBS, founded, January 1960; registered UK Charity no. 254742). The Prize honours the seminal contributions made to biophysics and to the BBS by John Kendrew who was instrumental in founding the BBS (in 1960), was its first Secretary (1960-62) and one of its early Chairs (1964).

Frequency of award: The Prize will be awarded every two years at the BBS biennial meeting or another BBS meeting.

Condition of award: The recipient must present a lecture, preferably at the next BBS biennial meeting, but possibly at another BBS meeting within 18 months of the award.

Value of the Prize: The recipient will receive £500. In addition, reasonable travel costs, accommodation and registration to attend the meeting at which the Prize is awarded will be paid.

Criteria and eligibility: The Prize will be awarded for an outstanding PhD thesis in biophysics for which the principal work has been carried out in the UK or Ireland and which is awarded by an academic institution (or equivalent) in the UK or Ireland. The recipient must have successfully defended their PhD thesis at an academic institution (or equivalent) in the UK or Ireland normally within four years of the BBS biennial meeting at which the prize is to be awarded.

Nominations: Nominations can be made by any member of a national Biophysical Society by the deadline posted on the BBS website, which will be at least 6 months before the next BBS biennial meeting.

Award process: Nominations should be sent to the Secretary of the BBS – the CV of the nominee (4 sides of A4, maximum), their thesis and a letter of recommendation from the nominator are required. The Prize recipient will be selected by a panel drawn from the BBS Committee by its serving Chair.