2017 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for CryoEM

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2017 was awarded to Jacques Dubochet, Joachim Frank and Richard Henderson "for developing cryo-electron microscopy for the high-resolution structure determination of biomolecules in solution".

The British Biophysical Society is delighted with the announcement that Richard Henderson in one of the recipients for the Nobel Prize in Chemistry this year. The revolution in cryo-electron microscopy has really excited biophysicists in the last few years, and it’s great to see it recognised by the Nobel committee. We are very happy for Richard, who has been a member of the British Biophysical Society for many years, and an Honorary Member since 2003. And we look forward to all that his innovation in the field of cryo-EM will deliver to our understanding of molecular and cellular biology at amazingly high resolutions.